Advancement / Recognition

Internet Advancement not only saves time and paper, it also makes for more accurate records in the BSA system. By using Internet Advancement, you have a quick and easy way to enter youth advancements, awards and merit badges. 

Remember, you still have to print out your report to bring to the Scout Shop to purchase recognition items.

(Internet Explorer 5.5 or higher should be used to view data correctly).

Advancement Resources

Eagle Scout Resources




2018 NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award

Call for Nominations


The Georgia-Carolina Council National Eagle Scout Association Committee wants to recognize Outstanding Eagle Scouts!  We need your help.

The NESA Outstanding Eagle Scout Award (NOESA) is a prestigious recognition granted by the Georgia-Carolina Council NESA Committee to honor Eagle Scouts who have demonstrated outstanding achievement at the local, state, or regional level. Unlike the Distinguished Eagle Scout Award, which is a national award, the NOESA recognizes Eagle Scouts whose efforts have made a positive impact closer to home. 

 Nationally, less than 1,800 NOESAs have been awarded.  All NOESA recipients must be Eagle Scouts in good standing with the Boy Scouts of America and must either be registered with or have their primary residence within the boundaries of the nominating council. 

No length of time is required to have passed since earning the Eagle rank. Examples of possible recipients include: 

  • Local heroes and celebrities at the peak of their notoriety whose achievements outside of Scouting have touched and inspired others

  • Philanthropists, public servants, educators, or business owners who have made a positive, long-term impact as cornerstones of the community

  • Individuals who have attained prominence at the state or regional level in their profession or avocation—an avocation being any activity including, but not limited to, athletics, hobbies, collecting, outdoor adventure, and record-setting activities 

Based on the number of Eagle Scouts in the council's 2017 Eagle Scout class, the NESA Committee can award up to two NOESA awards if it identifies men who qualify for the award.  As one Eagle has already been approved for the award in 2018, there is only one award available.  Applications are due by May 31, 2018.  The awardees will be recognized at the Council Dinner next March. The nomination process is similar to the Silver Beaver in that the individual nominated should not be told that he has been nominated for this award to avoid disappointment. 

For more information on eligibility and to obtain an application to nominate an Eagle Scout who you feel is deserving of this award, hold down Cntl and left click on Outstanding Eagle Scout Award Nomination Form.   Please submit the completed form to me with the reference NOESA.  If you do not have sufficient information to complete the form, please send the name of the Eagle Scout and a statement of his eligibility to me and we will obtain to necessary information to complete the application.  

Yours in Scouting,

Maury Locke


Changes to Eagle Palm Process to Take Effect August 1, 2017

This week, the BSA announced significant changes to the way Scouts earn Eagle Palms. The modifications take effect Aug. 1, 2017.

The changes bring Eagle Palm requirements in line with the needs of older Scouts. The National Boy Scouting Subcommittee has eliminated unnecessary obstacles, such as the Eagle Palm board of review, and expanded the definition of active participation.

But the biggest change affects young men who haven’t yet earned Eagle. Beginning Aug. 1, all earned Palms may be awarded instantly to new Eagle Scouts at their Eagle court of honor. This abolishes the wait of months or years for these young men to receive all Palms available to them.

For a closer look at what’s changing, see Scouting magazine's "Bryan on Scouting" blog.


Overnight Camping Requirements for Second Class, First Class to Change

The number of overnight campouts required for a young man to earn the Second Class and First Class ranks will be reduced under new requirements that take effect Aug. 1, 2017.

But the total number of camping nights a Boy Scout will experience in the program as he progresses toward the rank of Eagle Scout will not change.

In 2016, alongside the release of the 13th edition of the Boy Scout Handbook, the BSA increased the number of campouts required for Second Class to three since joining from two. It increased the number of campouts required for First Class to six since joining from three.

The August 1, 2017, revisions return the number of overnight campouts to pre-2016 levels but preserve the amount of time spent outdoors. The change maintains a focus on life-changing outdoors experiences while recognizing that not all outdoor activities need to include overnight camping. For more, read a full explanation in "Bryan on Scouting."